Review: The Kremlin Conspiracy by Joel C. Rosenberg

About this Book

Everything he learned to protect our president, he must use to take out theirs.

With an American president distracted by growing tensions in North Korea and Iran, an ominous new threat is emerging in Moscow. A czar is rising in the Kremlin, a Russian president feverishly consolidating power, silencing his opposition, and plotting a brazen and lightning-fast military strike that could rupture the NATO alliance and bring Washington and Moscow to the brink of nuclear war. But in his blind spot is the former U.S. Secret Service agent, Marcus Ryker, trained to protect but ready to kill to save his country.

My Review

Honestly, this was a hard read for me. Early on in the book the author would jump between characters and timeframes that I found confusing. I struggled keeping track of who was who and their significance. Likewise, the story at times seemed to drag on. Please note I reviewed an unedited advanced reader copy, some of the “slow” parts may have been cleaned up for final publication.

For me, a big problem was I didn’t start caring about the main character until near the end of the story. If I had related to him more earilier maybe I would have enjoyed the story, not sure.

For people who like Jason Bourne type stories you would probably enjoy this book. Lots of action especially in the final section, although in my mind somewhat unrealistic. (Hence the Jason Bourne reference)

Based on the ending, I’m guessing this is a book one, otherwise the author is cruel.

Although, I wasn’t crazy about this book, I might read book two but I would definitely read another book by this author.

Dislaimer: I did receive this book from the publisher but was not required to give a review. The opinions expressed here are my own.

Links provided are part of the Amazon affliate program and help cover the cost of this site.

New Book Watch: Blind Betrayal by Nancy Mehl

Deputy U.S. Marshal Casey Sloane has worked at the St. Louis marshals office for two years and is given a routine assignment to help transport a reporter to D.C. to testify before a grand jury. Valerie, the reporter, was writing a story about an up-and-coming environmentalist who suddenly disappeared and, she later discovered, whose backers purportedly have ties to a terrorist.

When the seemingly ordinary assignment suddenly takes a shocking turn, Casey is forced to put aside her own feelings about the unexpected reappearance of a man from her past as she and two other marshals take Valerie on the run.

Product details

  • Print Length: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Bethany House Publishers (April 17, 2018)
  • Publication Date: April 17, 2018
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07879ZBG5

New Book Watch: No One Ever Asked by Katie Ganshert

Challenging perceptions of discrimination and prejudice, this emotionally resonant drama for readers of Lisa Wingate and Jodi Picoult explores three different women navigating challenges in a changing school district–and in their lives.

When an impoverished school district loses its accreditation and the affluent community of Crystal Ridge has no choice but to open their school doors, the lives of three very different women converge: Camille Gray–the wife of an executive, mother of three, long-standing PTA chairwoman and champion fundraiser–faced with a shocking discovery that threatens to tear her picture-perfect world apart at the seams. Jen Covington, the career nurse whose long, painful journey to motherhood finally resulted in adoption but she is struggling with a happily-ever-after so much harder than she anticipated. Twenty-two-year-old Anaya Jones–the first woman in her family to graduate college and a brand new teacher at Crystal Ridge’s top elementary school, unprepared for the powder-keg situation she’s stepped into. Tensions rise within and without, culminating in an unforeseen event that impacts them all. This story explores the implicit biases impacting American society, and asks the ultimate question: What does it mean to be human? Why are we so quick to put labels on each other and categorize people as “this” or “that”, when such complexity exists in each person?

Product details

  • Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: WaterBrook (April 3, 2018)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1601429045
  • ISBN-13: 978-1601429049