New Book Watch: No One Ever Asked by Katie Ganshert

Challenging perceptions of discrimination and prejudice, this emotionally resonant drama for readers of Lisa Wingate and Jodi Picoult explores three different women navigating challenges in a changing school district–and in their lives.

When an impoverished school district loses its accreditation and the affluent community of Crystal Ridge has no choice but to open their school doors, the lives of three very different women converge: Camille Gray–the wife of an executive, mother of three, long-standing PTA chairwoman and champion fundraiser–faced with a shocking discovery that threatens to tear her picture-perfect world apart at the seams. Jen Covington, the career nurse whose long, painful journey to motherhood finally resulted in adoption but she is struggling with a happily-ever-after so much harder than she anticipated. Twenty-two-year-old Anaya Jones–the first woman in her family to graduate college and a brand new teacher at Crystal Ridge’s top elementary school, unprepared for the powder-keg situation she’s stepped into. Tensions rise within and without, culminating in an unforeseen event that impacts them all. This story explores the implicit biases impacting American society, and asks the ultimate question: What does it mean to be human? Why are we so quick to put labels on each other and categorize people as “this” or “that”, when such complexity exists in each person?

Product details

  • Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: WaterBrook (April 3, 2018)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1601429045
  • ISBN-13: 978-1601429049

New Book Watch: Life After: A Novel by Katie Ganshert



It could have been me.

Snow whirls around an elevated train platform in Chicago. A distracted woman boards the train, takes her seat, and moments later a fiery explosion rips through the frigid air, tearing the car apart in a horrific attack on the city’s transit system. One life is spared. Twenty-two are lost.

A year later, Autumn Manning can’t remember the day of the bombing and she is tormented by grief—by guilt. Twelve months of the question constantly echoing. Why? Why? Why? Searching for answers, she haunts the lives of the victims, unable to rest.

Paul Elliott lost his wife in the train bombing and wants to let the dead rest in peace, undisturbed and unable to cause more pain for his loved ones. He wants normalcy for his twelve-year-old daughter and young son, to see them move beyond the heartbreak. But when the Elliotts and Autumn are unexpectedly forced together, he fears she’ll bring more wreckage in her wake.

In Life After, Katie Ganshert’s most complex and unforgettable novel yet, the stirring prose and authentic characters pose questions of truth, goodness, and ultimate purpose in this emotionally resonant tale.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: WaterBrook (April 18, 2017)
  • Language: English

A Broken Kind of Beautiful – Katie Ganshert

About this Book

Sometimes everything you ever learned about yourself is wrong.

Fashion is a fickle industry, a frightening fact for twenty-four year old model Ivy Clark. Ten years in and she’s learned a sacred truth—appearance is everything. Nobody cares about her broken past as long as she looks beautiful for the camera. This is the only life Ivy knows—so when it starts to unravel, she’ll do anything to hold on. Even if that means moving to the quaint island town of Greenbrier, South Carolina, to be the new face of her stepmother’s bridal wear line—an irony too rich for words, since Ivy is far from the pure bride in white.

If only her tenuous future didn’t rest in the hands of Davis Knight, her mysterious new photographer. Not only did he walk away from the kind of success Ivy longs for to work maintenance at a local church, he treats her differently than any man ever has. Somehow, Davis sees through the façade she works so hard to maintain. He, along with a cast of other characters, challenges everything Ivy has come to believe about beauty and worth. Is it possible that God sees her—a woman stained and broken by the world—yet wants her still?



About the Author

My Review

This was truly a beautiful story. My heart broke for Ivy, even though at times I wanted to slap her, she was in many ways a victim. Her story reminds me of the importance of fathers in a girl’s life or at least positive male influences.

From the opening pages the author grabbed my heart as I watched Ivy’s life fall apart at least in her mind. My heart also broke for Ivy’s step-mother, Marilyn. She faced some unthinkable obstacles and in the minds of many unforgivable consequences. She exemplifies the love of God in her actions.

Davis Knight was also an endearing character as a man of integrity. Even in his struggles I really liked him. He lived up to his name.

The story had significant messages throughout. The author did a masterful job of reminding us that God is in the business of fixing the broken.

If you’ve read any of Katie’s books and enjoyed them, this one is even better. If you’ve never read Katie Ganshert’s book but enjoy the likes of Colleen Coble, Denise Hunter then you should enjoy Katie Ganshert.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank WaterBrook Press for the opportunity to read and review this book. I was under no obligation other than to give my honest opinion.

The Give Away

I have one copy of this excellent book. Simply enter through Rafflecopter. If we have at least 100 entries I’ll pick a second winner who will receive a $10 Amazon gift card.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Other Katie Ganshert Books