New Book Watch: Before We Were Yours: A Novel by Lisa Wingate



Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge–until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents–but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty.

Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family’s long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption.

Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals–in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country–Lisa Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

Product details

  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books (June 6, 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0425284689
  • ISBN-13: 978-0425284681

Review: Threads of Suspicion (An Evie Blackwell Cold Case) by Dee Henderson

About this Book

Evie Blackwell’s reputation as a top investigator for the Illinois State Police has landed her an appointment to the governor’s new Missing Persons Task Force. This elite investigative team is launched with plenty of public fanfare. The governor has made this initiative a high priority, so they will have to produce results–and quickly.

Evie and her new partner, David Marshal, are assigned to a pair of unrelated cases in suburban Chicago, and while both involve persons now missing for several years, the cases couldn’t be more different. While Evie opens old wounds in a close-knit neighborhood to find a missing college student, David searches for a private investigator working for a high-powered client.

With a deep conviction that “justice for all” truly matters, Evie and David are unrelenting in their search for the truth. But Evie must also find answers to the questions that lie just beneath the surface in her personal life.


My Review

I love Evie! I love the way she thinks and how passionate she is about her work. I also love how she is uncertain in some areas of her life. She’s far from the “perfect” crime fighter.

In this story we meet David Marshal fellow task force member and boyfriend of a well known singer, Margaret May McDonald. I really like David. He brought another level of strategy to solving the cold cases they were faced with. The story line between him and Maggie was excellent and not yet resolved.

One of the things I love about Henderson’s stories is how she weaves characters from her other books into the current one. In this book I especially enjoyed how she weaved Charlotte Bishop into the story.  (We met Charlotte in Unspoken. )

The story was also very well done. Henderson gives some misdirection throughout in trying to solve what happened to Jenna.  As many of Henderson’s recent books this one is over 400 pages, but it moves at a good pace and she doesn’t bury us with too much detail.

Definitely recommend me this to Henderson fans and if you are new to Dee Henderson this would be a very good story to start with. Although, it is a book two you can read it independently from book one.

Disclaimer: I did receive this book from the publisher, through netgalley.com. I was not required to leave a review.

New Book Watch: Dark Deception by Nancy Mehl



Kate O’Brien has been leading a quiet life in small-town Shelter Cove, Arkansas, for the past four years when her past suddenly comes roaring back to life. Four years ago, she and her twin sister were attacked by an elusive serial killer. Only Kate survived, and it was her drawing of the attacker–along with some last-minute evidence–that convicted the suspect.

She’s been in witness protection ever since, but new evidence suggests the convicted man isn’t the murderer and she’s been subpoenaed to testify in the new trial. Nervous about the risk, she’ll only agree if the same Marshal who protected her during the original trial escorts her to St. Louis.

Deputy U.S. Marshal Tony DeLuca accepts the assignment to bring Kate to the trial, remembering how her strength impressed him. While in Shelter Cove, however, he gets a call from his chief, advising them to stay in Shelter Cove until a new development in the case can be straightened out. But when Kate’s safety is threatened, Tony must race against the clock to keep her alive and put this ugly case to rest before anyone else gets killed.

Product details

  • Series: Defenders of Justice (Book 2)
  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Bethany House Publishers (June 6, 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 076421778X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0764217784